Welcome to the new Woodmann RCE Messageboards Regroupment
Please be patient while the rest of the site is restored.

To all Members of the old RCE Forums:
In order to log in, it will be necessary to reset your forum login password ("I forgot my password") using the original email address you registered with. You will be sent an email with a link to reset your password for that member account.

The old vBulletin forum was converted to phpBB format, requiring the passwords to be reset. If this is a problem for some because of a forgotten email address, please feel free to re-register with a new username. We are happy to welcome old and new members back to the forums! Thanks.

All new accounts are manually activated before you can post. Any questions can be PM'ed to Kayaker.

So *ahem* where can I download Archives of the Forum?

WaxfordSqueers
Senior Member
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:00 am

Post by WaxfordSqueers »

Woodmann wrote:I am putting it back up.
woodmann.com/woodmann stuff 2.rar
Thanks, Woodie. Don't know if I was too late, no connection there either.

I'll keep checking the link.

Been driving myself nuts trying to get my VM going. Turned out to be a corrupt ini file. Now I'm trying to set it up for remote debugging with Windbg. While I was at it, fired up Visual Ice for the first time.

Lead me back to Hyperterminal of all thing. Apparently it and a few other clones are handy for troubleshooting serial connections and network connection. Of course, Win 7 does not have Hyperterminal but there a couple of open-source apps in its likeness.

Interesting.
User avatar
Woodmann
Posts: 3605
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 6:28 pm

Post by Woodmann »

I just checked it and it works.

Woodmann


WaxfordSqueers wrote:Thanks, Woodie. Don't know if I was too late, no connection there either.

I'll keep checking the link.

Been driving myself nuts trying to get my VM going. Turned out to be a corrupt ini file. Now I'm trying to set it up for remote debugging with Windbg. While I was at it, fired up Visual Ice for the first time.

Lead me back to Hyperterminal of all thing. Apparently it and a few other clones are handy for troubleshooting serial connections and network connection. Of course, Win 7 does not have Hyperterminal but there a couple of open-source apps in its likeness.

Interesting.
Learn Or Die.
WaxfordSqueers
Senior Member
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:00 am

Post by WaxfordSqueers »

Woodmann wrote:I just checked it and it works.

Woodmann
Strange. When I hover my mouse over the link I get nothing. I am using the latest Firefox but I also tried it on an old version of Opera.

I took the link you provided and plugged it straight into Firefox.

http://woodmann.com/woodmann%20stuff%202.rar

Here's the Firefox error message:

Server not found

Firefox can’t find the server at woodmann.com.

Check the address for typing errors such as ww.example.com instead of www.example.com
If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer’s network connection.
If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

Also, plugged woodman.com into http://www.websitenotworking.com/woodmann.com

error: woodmann.com is not working.

Yet, the site must be working since I just logged in.
WaxfordSqueers
Senior Member
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:00 am

Post by WaxfordSqueers »

Woodmann wrote:I just checked it and it works.

Woodmann
Found the problem. I held my nose and used Internet Explorer 64 bit. It whined that you have to included www in the URL. So, woodmann.com doesn't work but www.woodman.com does work.

The file is now downloading. Thanks.

They must have changed something in the Internet protocol because you used to be able to leave the www off.

Firefox downloads it as a file but IE downloads on the display as ASCII. Makes me wonder how Microsoft ever succeeded. I think to d/l a file as a file you have to hold 'shift' or something. Not sure anymore.

How does the saying go, 'you rise to the level of your incompetence'. I guess in a world of sheer incompetence Microsoft is king.
User avatar
Woodmann
Posts: 3605
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 6:28 pm

Post by Woodmann »

Some people have a problem with the www part. I dont. Although Kayaker and I have had problems with that in the past.
We tried to fix it at the server level. Perhaps it has to do with the name resolvers.

Woodmann


WaxfordSqueers wrote:Found the problem. I held my nose and used Internet Explorer 64 bit. It whined that you have to included www in the URL. So, woodmann.com doesn't work but www.woodman.com does work.

The file is now downloading. Thanks.

They must have changed something in the Internet protocol because you used to be able to leave the www off.

Firefox downloads it as a file but IE downloads on the display as ASCII. Makes me wonder how Microsoft ever succeeded. I think to d/l a file as a file you have to hold 'shift' or something. Not sure anymore.

How does the saying go, 'you rise to the level of your incompetence'. I guess in a world of sheer incompetence Microsoft is king.
Learn Or Die.
WaxfordSqueers
Senior Member
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:00 am

Post by WaxfordSqueers »

Woodmann wrote:Perhaps it has to do with the name resolvers.Woodmann
It could be a DNS thing. I have experienced weird issues related to DNS.

Right now I am using the Google DNS server. It doesn't seem to care whether the www is there but I'll look into it.

The thing is that the websitenotworking site could not ping your site either with the www or no www. Of course, that does not mean that websitenotworking is any good.
User avatar
Woodmann
Posts: 3605
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 6:28 pm

Post by Woodmann »

I use this:
https://intodns.com
They drop the www if you enter it.

Woodmann


WaxfordSqueers wrote:It could be a DNS thing. I have experienced weird issues related to DNS.

Right now I am using the Google DNS server. It doesn't seem to care whether the www is there but I'll look into it.

The thing is that the websitenotworking site could not ping your site either with the www or no www. Of course, that does not mean that websitenotworking is any good.
Learn Or Die.
Post Reply