Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

  1. #1
    Tramb
    Guest

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    Hello everybody,

    I try to debug an optimized (hum!) Delphi 5 application, but OllyDbg completely messes the Turbo Debugger format symbols.
    Yet VTune gets them right!

    If somebody can help me, I'd be very grateful!

    Thanks,
    Bertrand
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,486
    Blog Entries
    15

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    completely messes it up means what it does ?? labels them wrong ??
    doesnt load ??
    can you post a small comparison snippet between two ??
    have you tried to find what may cause it ?? atleast give us some pointers on your research ?? so that we can atleast think of what might be the problem ??

    doesnt work (i would say it works like it is supposed to work only you cant decipher how it worked maybe ?? )

  3. #3
    Tramb
    Guest

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    > I'll check manually the link map to see if there is a constant offset or if it is > more complicated.

    There is no simple linear transformation between the symbols in OllyDbg and those in the link map...
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,486
    Blog Entries
    15

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    may be a stupid question but are you using some plugins like mapconv or godup to load the map ??
    if yes are you applying it to the right module ??
    maps are addressed some thing like this
    0001:001234 blah@##
    so ifyou apply itto base address 0x780000 it will be labelled at
    781234
    if you apply it to 0x400000 it will be labelled at 401234

  5. #5

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    Yes, oh me anon. We can create a detail map file from Delphi IDE, and import to OllyDbg it with some plugins.
    As I known, IDA v4.9 will support TDS file.

  6. #6
    Tramb
    Guest

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    I have trouble with the debug info embedded in the .EXE, in fact...
    Maybe I can try importing the delphi .map file with the appropriate plugin to see if the result are more accurate.
    I'll try googling for this (unless TQN posts a link? ;-) )

    Cheers
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  7. #7

    Turbo Debugger symbols messed up

    GoDup plugin in Stuph page: http://ollydbg.win32asmcommunity.net/stuph/GoDup1_2.zip

Similar Threads

  1. Turbo Pascal V7
    By mac53 in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: March 15th, 2005, 09:34
  2. Softice & IDA symbols
    By omega_red in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 20th, 2004, 19:19
  3. symbols or implib
    By idanski in forum OllyDbg Support Forums
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 27th, 2003, 03:09
  4. how to use symbols just like windbg
    By a1rsupp1y in forum OllyDbg Support Forums
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 27th, 2003, 22:33
  5. Turbo Debugger (TD32) and Symbols
    By cq25 in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 15th, 2001, 06:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •