Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: What's wrong with my i5comp?

  1. #1
    crazysjf
    Guest

    Question What's wrong with my i5comp?

    I want to use i5comp to relace one file in the cab file.
    Eg. The cab is data1.cab
    The file I want to replace is MyLicenses.dll, with index 135

    i use the command :i5comp r data1.cab 135 AnotherFile.dll

    it tells me it is done successfully. Then I type in "i5comp l data1.cab", however, I find no change is made to data1.cab: the file with index 135 is still MyLiceses.dll.
    Can any body tell me what is the matter with it? Thank a lot!
    The version of i5comp is 2.01.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  2. #2
    MAYBE the problem is with the proper use of the brain and failing to SEARCH for information, as suggested by the Rules in the FAQ, which you do not appear to have actually read..

    You are aware that i5comp is one of the oldest versions of software for modifying Installshield databases? Perhaps you are trying to modify a much newer verson of the software, which does not respond to i5comp.

    Regards,
    JMI

  3. #3
    crazysjf
    Guest

    Lightbulb reply

    Hehe, maybe you misunderstood me, and it seems you are not quit familiar with iXcomp, either.

    If you use i5comp to process an InstallShield 6 file, or use i6comp to process an InstallShield 5 file, you could get nothing but an error.

    In my case, i use i5comp to deal with an InstallShield 5.52 file. It can list, delete and add files, but just cannot replace. You can even delete a file first and then add another file to simulate the replace function.

    So maybe it is a bug or limitation of i5comp, to the specific InstallShield version, i GUESS.

    Anyhow, thanks very much for your concerntration

    Regards.
    Last edited by crazysjf; April 30th, 2005 at 21:34.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  4. #4
    : Code Injector : nikolatesla20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    :ether:
    Posts
    815
    Ok, so did you find that workaround BEFORE or AFTER you posted? Because if you found it already BEFORE you posted then you wasted board space and viewing time. Because who cares if your software isn't working right? Especially if you have a workaround.

    -nt20

Similar Threads

  1. Prove me right/wrong ;]
    By rat167 in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 30th, 2011, 09:22
  2. what's wrong with my HIEW32?
    By oep in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: May 23rd, 2005, 06:10
  3. What am I doing wrong? Concerning Run trace.
    By Mind in forum OllyDbg Support Forums
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 12th, 2005, 11:56
  4. OK - What am I doing wrong (CMDLINE)
    By bboitano in forum OllyDbg Support Forums
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 5th, 2003, 02:47
  5. Where am I goin wrong?
    By Scally in forum Malware Analysis and Unpacking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 9th, 2001, 09:05

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •