Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44

Thread: Globetrotter Parallel Dongle Clone

  1. #1
    hubschrauber
    Guest

    Globetrotter Parallel Dongle Clone

    Hello,

    I built a hardware clone for parallel globetrotter dongle.

    It is very easy to make a copy of an existing original dongle.

    I can put several dongle IDs into the clone...

    Is this helpful for reversing freaks ???

    - Hubschrauber -
    Last edited by hubschrauber; September 5th, 2004 at 17:17.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  2. #2
    Howdy,

    It is helpful for us "freaks".
    I just have a question or two.

    Do you need to have the "original" dongle ??
    I know you say it is easy to make a clone of an existing dongle but,
    If you have the original dongle, why build a clone ??

    You will need to convince me how you can put multiple dongle ID's onto one clone and have it know what the hell is going on.

    And of course the most important question, HOW MUCH $$$$$$

    -obc-
    (Hey man, I needs ta know)

  3. #3
    hubschrauber
    Guest
    Hi Woodmann,

    the idea was to build a clone from an existing dongle to use one lincense on several PCs.
    Because I am not a good reverser but a good mircocontroller and hardware specialist, I decided to do this in hardware.
    On advantage of this solution is, it works with every software, no special reversing must be done !!!
    You need the original dongle to read out the rom-data on rom-id and then store to clone.
    But I don't need the dongle physically, everyone can read out the original and send the data to me !!!

    At the moment I have stored 4 licenses on my handwired prototye dongle. Works fine !!!!
    It is no problem to store up to 10 or 50 licenses to one dongle. The only thing is I need a bigger microcontroller or use a separate data-flash.

    My question, why I put this info to this board, it is useful for reversing freaks ?
    Maybe it helps when cracking FlexLm manager ???

    How Much ????? Currently I am doing PCB stuff.... I will calculate it......

    - hubschrauber -
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  4. #4
    It is interesting that you have the solution from the hardware aspect, but do not forget that Globetrotter do not use any query in checking the dongle, just the dongle id and the serial number of the dongle (btw it is a piece of cake to replace with other SuperPro key). It would be more challenging if you could read the content of every cell of the SuperPro from hardware point of view. I am interested in your implementation anyway, and it is great if you have succeeded in "cloning" the Globetrotter dongle.

    Bye,
    scorpie

  5. #5
    hubschrauber
    Guest
    Hi scorpie,
    you are right, globetrotter security is a piece of cake !!!!
    So it was very easy to build the clone. About a few houres to do !!
    I use a ATMEL AVR for emulation.
    BUT: It's a nice solution for NON-PROFESSIONAL-REVERSERS

    Sorry, I have got no SuperPro Dongle !!
    -hubschrauber-
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  6. #6
    Hello hubschrauber,
    You are a professinal in your field (solutions from hardware aspect are rare in the message board), and could you more specific with the ATMEL AVR ? (which one ?). It is also great that without having the superpro you can clone it. Do you use the same sentinel driver for reading your "clone dongle" ?


    Regards,
    scorpie

  7. #7
    hubschrauber
    Guest
    Hello Scorpie,

    my handwired Proto was based on a MEGA8.
    Meanwhile a have finished the PCB for the first series (6 dongles), These Boards
    are based on MEGA48/88 or 168, because of their low voltage range. They work from
    1.8 V to 5 V !!! This is very important to run on Laptop-LPT-ports with only 3.3V.
    The clone is powered from the LPT like "standard" dongles !!!
    Drivers: I didn't change anything of the drivers, so I think it is the standards driver from macrovision/globetrotter.
    -hubschrauber-
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  8. #8
    Hiya,

    Forgive for I must have missed 60 minutes here ;-).

    What exactly is a 'Parallel GlobeTrotter Dongle Clone'. AFAIK GlobeTrotter (of FLEXlm fame) support about 3 dongles (Aladdin/Sentinel and Dallas ifirc) via the FLEXID# license switch and its simply a read of the dongles ID, nothing more.

    Which of these dongles does your 'Clone' support?, the technologies (protocols) used to read out the ID's of these 3 dongles are very different (h/w and s/w wise) and I'm pretty sure that FLEXlm uses the dongle vendors client library.

    I guess what I'm asking in a nutshell :

    1. What use is this? (aside from a cheap dongle replacement for legit FLEXlm clients).
    2. How does it work (exact details here!) and which dongle(s) does it support? (i.e. which protocols have you implemented).

    I think I speak for everyone on the board, when I say please post some details of everything you have done because there is considerable interest in this subject.

    Regards

    CrackZ.

  9. #9
    hubschrauber
    Guest
    HI CrackZ,

    I can tell you what I know about the original dongle:
    it is a "Globetrotter Dallas" connected via parallel port (LPT)
    This type of dongle uses Dallas 1-Wire Protocol. Inside the
    dongle there is 1-Wire-EEPROM with an unique ROM-ID (DS2505)
    For connection to the LPT-port a DS1481 is used. This chip is a 1-Wire-Bus-Master
    designed to run 1-Wire devices on the LPT-port.

    My clone emulates the the DS1481 and the DS2505. The 1-Wire-Bus is designed
    as a multi-device bus. So I can emulate many 1-Wire-Eeproms (DS2505) with my
    ATMEL AVR-Controller.
    To read out the original dongles you can use the Dallas I-Button Software TMEX,
    from dallas/maxim homepage. Switch TMEX to DEBUG-mode and save file. This file
    includes unique-ROM-ID and EEPROM data.
    ROM-ID and EEPROM data I need to include in my controller source file and that's it !!

    I think about to build a Copy-Software:
    First connect original dongle, PRESS read out.
    Second Connect empty clone, PRESS write to clone.

    I hope this are enough details !?!?!

    -hubschrauber-


    -
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  10. #10
    Administrator dELTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ring -1
    Posts
    4,206
    Blog Entries
    5
    As mentioned above, most of the people on this board have most of their knowledge in the software side of things. It's refreshing, interesting and valuable to have some hardware people/stuff like this here too, I hope you'll stick around and continue posting and contributing cool stuff like this hubschrauber.

  11. #11
    Hello hubschrauber, crackZ and deLTA,

    I am mistaken with having the impression that hubschrauber "clones" the superpro, and thank crackZ for pointing out other possibilities which Globetrotter support. It is clear now to me.

  12. #12
    hubschrauber
    Guest
    Hello TO ALL,

    today I got the first 6 PCBs of the clone hardware....
    ... at the moment I finished soldering...
    ... programmed the AVR controller...
    ... checked with FlexLm ...

    => IT WORKS !!!!!

    Where I can upload a picture of the clone ???
    Has someone an anonymous server ????
    Or can I send the picture to anyone by email, who can store to this server ???
    Maybe woodmann or a admin could do this ???

    - hubschrauber -
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  13. #13
    Administrator dELTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ring -1
    Posts
    4,206
    Blog Entries
    5
    Cool. Maybe you can write a tutorial or something about it? That would be very nice and valuable I think, since this hardware stuff is kinda rare in most reversing communities like this one. Also see my PM.

  14. #14
    horkey46
    Guest

    Thumbs up I would like to see the schematic of this also ...

    Hi Hubschrauber,
    I have been following this thread with great interest. I really enjoy the hardware aspect and was wondering what programmer is being used. Is it made by Atmel? Also, you may email the schematic to me if you wish
    TIA,
    horkey
    horkey46@hotmail.com
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  15. #15
    This is very interesting. I didn't know cloning dongles could be this easy. What did you use to draw the PCB? If it's in protel format? Do you mind sharing one or two of your designs? I believe you can directly attach files to your post so you could attach a zipped file or something that we all can learn from.

    Great work.

Similar Threads

  1. Clone DS2505
    By KpoX in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 16th, 2014, 12:13
  2. Hardlock Parallel
    By prophet001 in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2007, 15:51
  3. Building a Sentinel Pro Clone
    By Nethacks in forum Advanced Reversing and Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 8th, 2007, 22:17
  4. MAC Dongle Possible?
    By ejh in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 4th, 2004, 14:07
  5. Did someone say...Dongle?
    By Rackmount in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 18th, 2003, 12:31

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •