Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Identifying Protection

xollox

Identifying Protection

I've been lurking in this forum for a while, and I've come across a problem that I need some help with.

I have a program that I'd like to some "work" with, but I am unable to identify what protection is used. It's a publically available beta demo of a game that I'd like to write some hacks for.

PE-Scan reports "no recognised packer/encryptor found" and PEiD reports "Nothing found *"

When I try to open it in OllyDbg, it says that it's packed or encrypted and when loaded it shows code that is clearly packed/or encrypted.

Since I'm a newbie in the field, I don't know where to go from here. Any help would be appreciated.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

: Code Injector : nikolatesla20's Avatar
    A good start is to load the program into LordPE or PEditor and take a look at the sections. How many are there and what are there names, etc. This can usually strongly point towards the protection used.

If you can post this info without giving away the name of the target (DONT TELL US THE TARGET) then do so and maybe one of us might recognize it.

-nt20

Blog Entries
    Also, I guess the authors of programs like PEiD are always interested in samples of unknown packers, and if you're lucky you might be able to get the information you want from them at the same time. Try to find out as much as possible yourself first though, to make it easier for them.

xollox
    Thanks for the tips, guys.

Here is what LordPE told me:
    .CODE
    .rsrc
    .idata
    .ext
    XPROT
    .vmtext
    Last edited by xollox; May 3rd, 2004 at 22:24.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

Quote Originally Posted by xollox
    Thanks for the tips, guys.

Here is what LordPE told me:
    .CODE
    .rsrc
    .idata
    .ext
    XPROT
    .vmtext