Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Help! Random reboot using SoftICE for WinXP!

  1. #1
    Moddie
    Guest

    Angry Help! Random reboot using SoftICE for WinXP!

    Im using SoftICE v4.2.7 (DriverStudio 2.7) and im using WinXP SP1.
    SoftICE works ok, breakpoints works etc, but sometimes my computer just reboots, showing a bluescreen very fast and then just reboots.

    I have also tried to use SoftICE v4.05 for WinNT with WinXP with the XP patches and I have the same problem with that version.

    Also the same problem appears when i use WinXP without SP1.

    I have set up so i have to load SoftICE manually when i want to use it, but even if i have not loaded softice it can reboot my computer. but i guess it's becuase SIWVID is loaded during startup of the pc.

    Anyway, is there someone who have the same problem or have a clue what's going on because i don't want to switch to Win98 to be able to use SoftICE.

    Some specs about my computer:

    OS: Windows XP SP1 Swedish
    GFX: Nvidia GeForce2 MX-400
    CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2400

    Regards
    Moddie
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  2. #2
    MiniMind
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Moddie
    Im using SoftICE v4.2.7 (DriverStudio 2.7) and im using WinXP SP1.
    I don't know anything about your problem, but you can try to buy or get DriverStudio 3.0. It works fine on XP newest...

    MiniMind
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  3. #3
    Moddie
    Guest
    I have tried that one too... same problem.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  4. #4
    eh.. SIWVID MUST be loaded at startup, if you ever plan to see SI on the screen. this driver is meant to copy and manage screen while SI is displayed (that is, catch the screen, remember it, and display on it whatever SI wants)

    if you do see BSoD for only an instant, that possibly means that you didn't turn off "restart on critical fairlue" option in XP. go to MyComputer->Properties->Advanced->Startup&Recovery and deselect the "Automatically restart" option. Now if you see BSoD, try to remember/or write what significant it does say.

    Also, if you please, tell us what 'artifacts' in system behaviour you notice, if any ie. erratic mouse, keyboard misinterpreting keys, applications closing with error or not closing at all even if you order it etc.

    You could read my thread about 3small or 1big problem with SI, also. There are some (my) problems described, and in the end it turned out that SI did'nt like one driver installed with software firewall, which just like SI was loaded at startup and strange things did happen

    If you still have DS3.0 install it. Usually new software is less buggy :P Once you install it, obtain service pack v2 for DSthree-zero's. It is the file DS30SP2 available for free (!) in the support->DS/Softice->patches panel at www.compuware.com. and install it ofcourse

    There is also biiig knowledgebase sections above 'patches', which you could read and try to find something near (however i digged through it completely back then, and now i don;t recall anything similar).

    Next thing - maybe just you have set up, or didn't set up at all the VideoMemory setting, hm? as i said, SI backs up whole screen, and therefore it must have place allocated to do it.. it must be AT LEAST your_horiz_res*vert_res*4B ie. for 1024x768 it will be around 3.5MB. it is good to have a little above, but NO above your available video memory at your graphic board. [4B cames from 32bit colours. if you have less, you can lower the 4B ...but what for..]

    you can also try disconnecting USB devices...

    if you manage to start SI , get out of it at once and run:
    I:\SoftICE\nmsym /log:log.txt
    (change the path, leave filename :P )
    this will dump SI's history log. open it, and search for any errors, ie i have had an error during loading NETMSG module.. blah.. you can read more about it in my thread, i don't want to write it all once again :P

    well, that's for now.

  5. #5
    Lost in Lala Land peterg70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    195
    There is an option in WindowsXP to pause of BSOD rather than rebooting. Find it change it and see what sort of error you are getting.

    That should point you to the culprit

    To disable this feature, open System Properties by right clicking on My Computer and selecting Properties. Alternatively you can hold down the Windows key on your keyboard and press Pause/Break.

    Once you have System Properties open click on the Advanced tab, then click on the Startup and Recovery button at the bottom. When the Startup and Recovery panel opens simply uncheck Automatically Reboot.

    Then Read this to help out
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/TechNet/prodtechnol/winntas/tips/techrep/bsod.asp

    peterg70

  6. #6
    Administrator dELTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ring -1
    Posts
    4,205
    Blog Entries
    5
    Here is a link to the thread that quetzalcoatl mentions above, for the people who are too lazy to go look for it themselves:

    http://www.woodmann.net/forum/showthread.php?t=5335


  7. #7
    Moddie
    Guest
    Thanks all for trying to help me, i will try out all stuff you told me.

    I got no probs to load softice at all, it runs fine, but after some debugging windows just reboots when im in windows (not in softice).

    Oh and no other apps behave strange or so.
    I have attached a little pic of the BSOD now, well, the text is in swedish and it doesn't give much info except maybe one thing, well check it out.

    Will also try to update with the SP2 and see if it does the trick... i bet not ;(
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  8. #8
    Moddie
    Guest
    Oh and where it says IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL it also say: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA sometimes, it did right now when i had faults on in softice.

    If i have faults on in softice i can see softice displays:

    Break due to KeBugCheckEx (Unhandled kernel mode exception)
    Error=50 (PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA) P1=FFAF7ECC P2=0 P3=F433FB94 P4=0

    Dunno if this will help me anything tho...
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  9. #9
    Administrator dELTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ring -1
    Posts
    4,205
    Blog Entries
    5
    Are you completely sure it has anything to do with Softice at all? The specific error type on your bluescreen is common e.g. when there is something wrong with the ram memory of the computer. I got bluescreens exactly like that (even in the same language actually ) just after I had bought my new computer. It is a dual DDR400 bus rig, and these are very sensitive for timing issues with the ram memories, the makers of the motherboards often even have lists of approved memories for each of their motherboards on their websites. I had to switch from Kingston memories to original Samsung memories, and after that these errors disappeared, just like expected. If this is the problem for you, the bluescreens could come up at any time, but still quite rarely, just enough to make you suspect other sources of error (like e.g. the good old patsy Softice ).

    I'd suggest you uninstall softice completely, and then use the computer for a week or so, to see if you get any blue screen anyway, and after that we can start slapping Softice around again if the bluescreens seem to have completely disappeared.

    If anyone has any deeper insterest in what the bluescreen says, here's a brief translation of it:

    An error occurred and Windows has been shut down to prevent problems with your computer.

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    <lots of crap about verifying the correct installation and functionality of any new hardware in the computer, and trying to remove any new hardware to see if it helps>

    Technical information:

    *** STOP: 0x0000000A (0x20E100F0, 0x000000FF, 0x00000000, 0x804ECA4D)

    Beginning dumping of physical memory.
    Dumping complete. Please contact your system administrator or your local reversing messageboard. If all else fails, blame Softice.

  10. #10
    Well thank God there is finally someone here who can actually speak dELTA's language. dELTA, you should show him a picture of your print screen shots, just to make everybody enviousl. Yes, he, dELTA, does have one humongous "monitor" to view his vBulletin.

    Regards,
    JMI

  11. #11
    Hi Moddie !
    Sorry for my bad English skill. You can try this way. Open DriverStudio Configuration program, at SoftIce Initialization sub key, General - uncheck "Trap NMI", Troubleshooting - uncheck "Disable mapping of non-present pages".
    Hope this way will help you to solve your problem
    Good luck !
    TQN

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by TQN
    Hi Moddie !
    uncheck "Trap NMI", Troubleshooting - uncheck "Disable mapping of non-TQN
    Disabling NMI trapping will solve one thing - if the error occurs SI won't catch it just before system crash :P

    Disabling mapping on non-paged.. well i think it could have some effect, and i would try it but if it doesn't work, and computer will still be crashing, well..

    irq_not_less_or_equal - i have seen this error on my comp twice. first time when sound card driver was in conflict with modem's sound driver (i don't know neither why nor how it could happen. non-plug&play maybe they were..)
    the second time was when my disk 'catched' some new bad sectors, right in the place occupied by some very_important_system_file, and at each reboot i saw either this error, or that about fault_in_non_paged.
    due to M$ that last error may occur only (heh) in two cases: damaged virtual memory (swap file built on bad sectors) or damaged ram.

    so i would try this if SI config fails:
    [after each point, rebooot and check before next. each next point is more 'radical' and will more interfere with things you have on the system, therefore i suggest that you try any other thing before removing/uninstalling etc and try it only when you are desperate enough]
    *) the very first thing is to obtain valid OSINFO.DAT and put it into windows\sytem32\driver directory. checkout last posts in the thread 3SmallProblemsOr1BigProblemWithSoftice - there is a link to the file i have found to be the newest.
    *) reboot, go into BIOS setting, turn off "Disable RAM checking" or "FastBoot" or whatever - just force the BIOS to do a full test of ram. if after the test there will be an error or the amount of available ram will not be qual to what should be (ie. you have 256MB and BIOS says that you have 262128KB - 16KB missing) - remove the damaged unit.
    *) remove all the RAM from computer. for each unit, insert only one not checked yet and try out if system fails again. if system fails ON ALL OF THEM, that means that is not the source of problem OR all of them are damaged (not probable, unless you have kicked the mainboard or have heavy spikes in the power..)
    if it's not the ram you can try to scan your system and cache partitions for bad sectors, but due to that new, beautiful scandisk in XP you won't get any msg even if it finds any...
    *) being in windows, DONT start SI (that would also mean you will have to disable its startup modes: 'boot', 'automatically' and 'system') simply LEAVE the WinXP running for ie. 6h. if it'll crash again - well.. you will have to proceed to next point or try uninstalling everything what could have installed a system service or driver..
    *) try unplugging (not just disabling!) or removing one-by-one each not critical device you have. that is: sound cards, modems, network cards, and anything different that VideoBoard and HDD with OS.
    *) if it won't run on minimal hardware configuration, and you have uninstaled everything that would have more that 0.1% chance of including a driver or system service, the only thing is to format system and cache partions, and make CLEAN OS installation. without ANYTHING. run it. if it crashes before installation is complete ie. during one of the several reboots needed, that means the hardrive has badsectors in vital places, sorry to say but it has to be replaced. if it crashes after successful instalation - try again that thing with removing devices - by that you will either isolate the 'bad' device, or you will remove everything .. then either disk, Bios, ram or CPU are damaged.
    if it will run witout any error though, install SI, reboot and check again. pray that it wont crash if it does, forget at least about that version (DS3.0), and also probably earlier...

    [edited: only fixed some grammar/spelling mistakes ]
    Last edited by quetzalcoatl; January 9th, 2004 at 06:27.

  13. #13
    Administrator dELTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ring -1
    Posts
    4,205
    Blog Entries
    5
    *) reboot, go into BIOS setting, turn off "Disable RAM checking" or "FastBoot" or whatever - just force the BIOS to do a full test of ram. if after testing there will be an error or the amount of available ram will not be qual to what should be (ie. you have 256MB and BIOS says that you have 262128KB - 16KB missing) - remove the damaged unit.
    *) remove all the RAM from computer. for each unit, insert only one not checked yet and try out if system fails again. if system fails ON ALL OF THEM, that means that is not the source of problem OR all of them are damaged (not probable, unless you have kicked the mainboard or have heavy spikes in the power..)
    if it's not ther ram you can try to scan your system and cache partitions for bad sectors, but due to that new, beautiful scandisk in XP you won't get any msg even if it founds any...
    Also, again, consider the memory timing problem possibility I mentioned above. Memory/motherboard combinations with this problem might very well pass a memory test just fine, but then at seldom occasions there might still be an unfortunate bit error that will bluescreen your computer with just that error message. Try to get info about approved memory modules for your motherboard model, from your motherboard manufacturer's website.

  14. #14
    Moddie
    Guest
    Tried most stuff of what you guys told me, except for the memory, will remove one and see if it still crashes...

    I think something is fucked with them acually...
    The Osinfo.dat from the other post just fucked it up more, now my computer crashes ad displays a BSOD as soon as i load softice (manually) ... softice displays API Hooking Error and the other KeBugCheckEx error...

    Moddie
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  15. #15
    Howdy,

    I wish I could be the only person on this place to understand
    the Swedish language
    I shall say no more

    Woodmann

Similar Threads

  1. The Legend Of Random
    By wolfswar in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 26th, 2014, 15:26
  2. Random Data
    By Maze in forum Advanced Reversing and Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 25th, 2009, 09:35
  3. Random Freezing
    By naides in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 6th, 2008, 04:48
  4. Avoiding INT1 detection of SoftICE under WinXP
    By SiNTAX in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: October 29th, 2002, 15:44
  5. WinXP: SoftICE breakpoints dont work?
    By Vaboc in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 25th, 2002, 06:09

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •