Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Driver Suite 3.0.0 Problem?

  1. #1
    Registered User cRk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    out of hell
    Posts
    152

    Post Driver Suite 3.0.0 Problem?

    ok guys... i searched many stuff about it.. and came to the conclution that this answer did not apply to any thread already done... maybe?? but i did search without results!

    yesterday i installed Driver Suite 3.0, used to have 2.7 in other machine and the same happends except that this new driver suite don't freeze up my system and looks like running ok. the only think don't work is the mouse which dosen't do nothing at all.. and other stuff is that i set any bpx, even having many exported system .dll set, i can't get any bpx to work in WinXP

    the real problem, which i consider, is that after installing it i can't longer see the Scandisk progress when i scheduled a check for Disk C:/ or D:/

    i can't longer see the progress window while scandisk is running.. i know is running because windows takes longer to load but just a dark screen stay there reading

    used to be blue.. looks like Driversuite modify some of the WinXP boot files.. i wonder if someone has experienced this problem before and how i can resolve this... i really don't want to install XP for this.. i'm short of time for that.. and still i would like to have Driver suite running and working....

    this never happend with any application except with driversuite

    anyone please?

  2. #2

    As Above

    1. Open Windows Explorer
    2. See boot.ini
    3. Right click and remove the read-only permissions
    4. Open it in notepad
    5. Remove the /nogui option
    6. Right click and put the read-only permission again
    7. Reboot
    Now you can see everything.

    Have Phun
    Blame Microsoft, get l337 !!

  3. #3
    Registered User cRk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    out of hell
    Posts
    152

    Thumbs up

    yeap! that did the job!! anyone would tell me how to get the bpx's to work and break? is there something i should set up as additional option or something to download as additional component to make Driversuite work Under WinXP?

    i really apreciated your help Aimless

    Best regards!

  4. #4

    As Above

    In older versions of SoftICE:

    bpx MessageBoxA

    would allow softice to popup whenever ANY program calls the MessageBoxA API

    In newer versions of Driver Studio/SICE Studio:

    bpx MessageBoxA will NOT work. You will have to:

    1. addr notepad (Assuming notepad is where you want to capture the breakpoint)
    2. Bpx MessageBoxA

    Intentionally or unintentionally, the bpx will work only and only when they are triggered in the CONTEXT where they were set. So you will routinely have to change context to your application using ADDR command and supsequently place the breakpoint.

    Have Phun
    Blame Microsoft, get l337 !!

  5. #5
    Registered User cRk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    out of hell
    Posts
    152
    you mean to set a Bpx under WinXP using Driver Suite 3.0

    i'll have to write in SICE

    addr "the program name"

    then

    bpx "some API function"

    is this correct?


    Best regards!

  6. #6

    As Above

    Yes.

    A good idea is to let the SYMBOL LOADER load the application, stop at the ENTRYPOINT (it does all this automatically) and then put in your breakpoints.

    Alternatively:

    ADDR <your_application_name>
    BPX <whatever...>

    Have Phun
    Blame Microsoft, get l337 !!

  7. #7
    Registered User cRk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    out of hell
    Posts
    152

  8. #8
    cRk: This has also already been discussed several times here. Had you actually read the threads on the latest versions of SICE you would have already known this requirement.

    Regards.
    JMI

  9. #9
    Registered User cRk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    out of hell
    Posts
    152
    sorry brother and thanks for all your efforts to make everyone go in the right way but i didn't found it. excuseme for mi mistake if i did a wrong step by making this thread

  10. #10
    In addition to the ADDR command there are also the ATTACH and DETACH commands. The ATTACH command lets you set the default address context and symbol table to change to when SoftICE pops up. This avoids the necessity of having to set the ADDR each time you want to define the context in which breakpoints are to operate.

    You will find a discussion of these issues here:

    http://www.exetools.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2548&highlight=sice

    Regards.
    JMI

  11. #11
    compuboy_r
    Guest

    Mouse Solved

    To solve the mouse problem just goto the troubleshooting options in the softice settings and select

    1. Disable num lock and caps lock programming
    2. Do not patch keyboard driver
    3. Disable USB mouse patching


    compuboy_r
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

Similar Threads

  1. x64 SEH & Explorer Suite Update
    By Daniel Pistelli in forum Blogs Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 20th, 2009, 13:50
  2. Explorer Suite I
    By Ntoskrnl in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2006, 13:41
  3. Display Driver Problem
    By muzunnass in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 7th, 2004, 11:45
  4. SoftICE Driver Suite
    By MiniMind in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 16th, 2003, 12:53
  5. SoftICE Driver Suite 3.0.1 (StinkyD) problem
    By theCaller in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 11th, 2003, 05:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •