Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: time trials

qweasdzxc

time trials

I have looked far and wide, but still haven't found anything describing this problem.

I am trying to kill a timer in my target. I have killed a nag screen and the 30 day limit so far, But when you execute the prog you are limited to 4 minutes of runtime...

I have looked for settimer, killtimer, getsystemtime, and ofcourse the milliseconds (240000), and the HEX equivalent (3A980)... I have also set a break for the 4 minute nag screen, but I got trapped in USER32.dll

The timer does not use the system time. I can start the app, then change my system time and the app always runs for 4 minutes.

My guess is that the app sets it's own independant timer, I have no experience with that yet. Can someone point me to a good tutorial? or offer any relevant advice?

Ida reports that the app is coded in C++, Is there a trick with some C++ library that I'm missing?
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

You tried gettickcount?

And about the time... No smart coder would use exactly 4 mins, since it will be easy to find. (Though I agree, this is quite common... So coders are not that smart, then... :P)

There are many other apis to get time too...

Hope someone will help you with the question about timers.

/Manko

qweasdzxc
    No, I haven't tried Gettickcount. didn't know about it...
    I know I need to read more, but I don't feel like I learn by reading, I like to learn by hands on methods, this way what I learn seems to stick around a little better.

I have a feeling that I am right ontop of the section I need to be in, I keep narrowing down and I have a couple of screens of interesting code. I have identified the VU Meter in the app, and I have a jmp out of that code into a rather large loop with SEVERAL calls. I am close, but I still cant see it. I can't find anything I recognize from any tuts I've read.