Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: help with juno browser

  1. #1
    XonioX
    Guest

    help with juno browser

    Can anyone show me where i can look to find info about the juno browser. I use the service and for 120.00 a year you can't beat it. However I do not wish to use the browser because it is a tank. If I x out of the browser it also ends my internet session. Where should I begin to look to see how I can trick it into thinking I am still logged in or just getting rid of the process period. The browser is based on IE 5 (another reason I do not wish to use it). I know this question is kinda lame but if any one has any ideas it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  2. #2
    DakienDX
    Guest
    Hello XonioX !

    This is not a lame question. It's basic reversing, you're on the place we (try to) do it.

    I don't know the Juno Browser. I suppose it's a program which lets you surf as long as you want in the internet and you pay yearly fee for it. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

    I don't think the application who has the control over the internet connection is integrated into the Juno Browser, so I think it's an external application which checks somehow if the window of the Juno Browser is still on the task list (and perhaps if it's the foreground window). So you should look if you can find this application and see what it is checking for.

    I can't help you much more without some infos about the Juno Browser. So please tell us anything what looks important to you. (how is the connection made, what tasks are active when running it, does it download advertisments in the background, ...)
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  3. #3
    XonioX
    Guest

    juno browser

    I did some reading on it and it very similar to the aol browser. It has looksmarts search engine integrated in the top with several channel links. There are also links to read, write,and internet. It allows you to choose whether you want to connect to just the email service or the internet. One thing I have found that if I hit ctrl alt del and force it closed. The warning box that says if i close the browser I loose my connection still pops up. I select no then I get the warning box for this task is not responding. By selecting end task it will close it anyway and i am still connected to the net and free to use opera without the extra hinderance of loosing system resources. However I would still like to figure out how to close without having to go through that process. There are no ad banners running while it is open however when you connect to the internet you see several ads. I am also running win 98
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  4. #4
    Lost in Lala Land peterg70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    195

    Juno Browser

    If the Juno Browser uses IE 5.0 to connect to the internet via a modem then isn't it jsut using the dialup connection as per standard windows. Go to tools/Internet Options/Connections and see if a dialup connection is present

    If so you can go to the dialup networking icon in your My computer and double click on the dialup connection Something like JUNO etc. and this will connect you up. I assume OPERA has a method of activation a dialup connection as well so check the options button.

    You can also retrieve the password if it has one by using a password thief or the fravia method of reversing all **** hashing to plain text.

    then you can run any kind of software over the dialup connection. provided the ports are open.

    Your description of end tasking the IE5.0 sounds like the dialup connection popped up but you shutdown the internet explorer.

    Let us know if this is so
    Peterg70

  5. #5
    XonioX
    Guest
    about a month ago i did play around with the dial up connection properties and this was interesting. I set it to use ie 5.5 as the default browser and not juno's. when I would start the dial up connection it would start however it automatically switched back to the juno browser. and ie5.5 did not come up ever. After that I deactivated the dial up connection in windows. This thing(juno) has it's own dial up connection built in and connects to the net without using the one from windows. It's funny though beacuse when I force clodese the browser my computer runs ten times faster on the internet whith a different browser vs. theirs. So it is probably sending and recieving all kinds of info I do not need as well as let them know where I have been or am headed. These guys may in fact be dirtier than aol. Last night I read an article where they were planning to lease out the space of their "free users" computers to third parties to create some kind of supercomputer. Maybe they have been doing that to me all along as well, maybe not. Also without it up my firewall goes off 90% less.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  6. #6
    DakienDX
    Guest
    Hello XonioX !

    You could use TerminateProcess to get rid of the Juno Browser. It shouldn't be able to protect itself from being terminated by this function. You could program a loader which starts the dialup program and terminates the Juno Browser as soon as it's found on the task list. This way you should have what you wanted to have without going through the process of cracking the software.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  7. #7
    OK, let me see if I understand this,

    The browser and the dialer are linked as one.

    Fire up the "house" brand dialer and do not link it
    to any browser. It should just dial and show the little connection box on the tool bar.

    I have never heard of a dial-up with a "smart" connection to know if its browser is running but,
    If Juno is a free service I wouldnt be surprised.

    Peace, Woodmann

  8. #8
    XonioX
    Guest

    juno

    Actually they offer free service and pay. The free users get screwed with bad connections and many many ads. I pay but all I want is the connection not their software. Simply terminating the process works well. But here is something interesting. A port probe from there server shows up on my firewall if the browser is not running down I go. it's the damdest thing. For 9.95 a month maybe I am simply getting what I am paying for.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  9. #9
    Lost in Lala Land peterg70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    195
    Hmmm

    This sounds like a job for a emulator. Something that dials up the connect, terminates the process and listens on a port and sends the correct answer.

    can you supply some info on what port and packet information it is requesting. It may be that it trying to check the name version of the browser which can usually be fixed quite easily

  10. #10
    XonioX
    Guest
    IP: 64.136.16.77
    DNS: m14.jersey.juno.com

    that is where the tcp port probe comes from

    port 3900 or 5050 maybe?

    I am still interested in learning how to completly reverse this browser where would be a good place to start to get info on doing that. The more I found out about them the more it is becoming a moral imperative to change the reality of the crappy browser hell in which I am forced to exist.


    Determined

    XonioX
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  11. #11
    XonioX
    Guest

    juno

    I ran a couple of test's. The first was normal startup. I used filemon to see what files it was calling. Rnaaap was calling
    C:\Program Files\juno\bin\junosmm.dll and logging it into the same place, junosmm.log. The log lists your disconnection. If it shows that the disconnect fails it says this. Juno's servers will read it. So you need a clean copy of the log file saved somewhere else so that when you connect again it looks like everything was cool the last time you discon. In other words use xcopy in dos and create a batch file. From this junosmm.dll it instantly moves to the executor. and juno starts up. Currently I have simply been force closing. But where does the alert come up from? The one where if you close juno you get discon?within the executor? In the juno.ini file it loads somewhere around 30 to 35 dll's most system some juno specific. My main question is when you use dial up net. How the hell does juno initialize by itself? it is not the default. Opera is.
    Is that dll the initializer or are those dirty bastards just hacking me and attempting to make me use their crappy browser?

    Determined

    XonioX
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

Similar Threads

  1. New feature in IDA 6.2: The proximity browser
    By Hex Blog in forum Blogs Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 9th, 2011, 05:17
  2. Trojan monitoring almost every browser
    By Cthulhu in forum Malware Analysis and Unpacking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 14th, 2010, 06:31
  3. Crash analysis of a plugin in a browser [need help]
    By nothize in forum Advanced Reversing and Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 13th, 2009, 02:01
  4. Can Olly load/run a web browser loaded app?
    By QuanSu in forum OllyDbg Support Forums
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 21st, 2007, 12:23
  5. Devpartner7 vs. web browser performance?
    By _Servil_ in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 5th, 2002, 03:46

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •