Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: trouble installing icedump

  1. #1
    rowdy
    Guest

    trouble installing icedump

    I am trying to install icedump in softice. When I run the patch file (icedump.exe) I get the message:-
    icedump was not loaded yet
    VXDLDR failed to load icedump
    I am using icedump v6.0.2.3 and winice v4.05 build 334. Can anybody help?
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  2. #2
    CoDe_InSiDe
    Guest
    Hi rowdy,

    First of all i think this post should be on the Tools Board
    And second try this link:

    http://usa3.hostrack.net/woodmann/Ultraboard/Public/HTML/B6/1060-1.topic.html

    Cya...

    CoDe_InSiDe
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  3. #3
    ianaston
    Guest

    trouble installing icedump

    I have tried everything but VXD will not load.
    Int 2f gives VXDLDR entry point but when I call this,
    it returns with carry set (error) and ax = 8. (error code ?)
    What is error code 8?
    Do I need to have winice loaded before running icedump.exe ?

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  4. #4
    DGR
    Guest
    Heyhey,

    Maybe an unnecesary question but... did you put the corresponding icedump file into either the system32/drivers or softice dir (or whereever it should be put).

    Seems to me that the icedump is not in the dir where the patcher expects it to be.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  5. #5
    EtErNaL_L0ser
    Guest

    Talking Aha :)

    That solves my problem too thnx DGR
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  6. #6
    Thinner
    Guest
    Hi,

    where do you put the icedump.exe ?

    I tried SI dir and system32/drivers, but it doesn't work...

    THX
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  7. #7
    Typical problem in getting Icedump to work is that one has forgotten to edit the winice.dat file, to make it load exports from kernel32.dll. Icedump tries to locate the addresses of kernel32 api's by searching in softice's symbol base, and if it can't find these, it won't load.

    Fake

  8. #8
    rowdy
    Guest

    Smile

    SUCCESS!!

    It seems that icedump will not load with norton crashguard installed. I uninstalled crashguard and voila!....it loaded.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

  9. #9
    Programmer Run Amock... Bengaly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Somewhere over the Rainbow
    Posts
    289
    Blog Entries
    1

    iCEDump

    Installing IceDUMP:
    -------------------
    Extract the ZIP file (32bit with dirs.).
    It is not important where to Extract IceDUMP.
    Once extracted, should see Dirs:
    TOOLS / W9X / WNT
    | | +--------------------> WinNT VxD versions of SoftICE
    | +-------------------+
    MASM include files |
    |
    SoftICE win9X versions (Dos as well)
    In this dir you should see allot of Dirs
    Every dir represents SoftICE version,
    Starting from DOS->Windows SoftICE versions.
    Also there are some other Dirs for small
    Utile (mp3 player..)

    The first thing you do before running the IceDUMP exe file (VxD)
    Is to ensure your SoftICE version, you can do that by loading SoftICE
    And press VER
    You will be given The SoftICE information.
    For example, my SoftICE version is:

    SoftICE 4.0.5 (Build 334)
    Copyright (c) 2000 Compuware Corporation. All rights reserved

    This means I have SoftICE 4.05 Build 334)
    So I Run SoftICE for Windows98, so in IceDUMP Dirs for w9x
    I need to enter the sub dir called: 4.05.334
    And load the specific VxD for my SoftICE version.
    *You don't need to put IceDUMP files in SoftICE directory.
    My IceDUMP is installed at: D:\Dont Tuch\My Ducoments\Cracking\Ice Dump\w9x
    Where SoftIce is installed at: C:\Program Files\NuMega\SoftIce95
    You see, there is no need to move any files, when running the right IceDUMP VxD
    Version for your SoftICE it will automatically ready to use.
    And you can use more options IceDUMP have :-)
    Have Fun.
    "knowledge is now free at last, everything should be free from now on, enjoy knowledge and life and never work for everybody else"

Similar Threads

  1. softice 4.0 trouble
    By computerbum30 in forum The Newbie Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 19th, 2004, 18:35
  2. Aspack trouble
    By Soldat in forum Malware Analysis and Unpacking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 27th, 2002, 20:05
  3. MPR.DLL trouble
    By CccT in forum Advanced Reversing and Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 27th, 2002, 21:14
  4. FlexLM SDK 7.2f trouble.
    By Bill Fox in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 16th, 2001, 21:35
  5. still trouble. me stupid.
    By NchantA in forum Advanced Reversing and Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 12th, 2000, 06:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •