Thread: IDA FLIRT sigs from MSVC2010 static libraries failing w/ "not a coff" error

Question IDA FLIRT sigs from MSVC2010 static libraries failing w/ "not a coff" error

Hi guys,

I'm trying to wrap my head around a large project for which I have no source. I know that the executable was statically linked against Lua, zlib, libpng, and a large host of other software. I have no real experience with IDA, but I can see how using the FLAIR/FLIRT tools could be useful here. I started my attempt at generating sigs by compiling a static zlib library and extracting a pattern using the pcf executable packaged with the 6.1 FLAIR release. This fails with the following error:
    Code:
    C:\>pcf -d zlib.lib
    COFF parser. Copyright (c) 1997-2011 Hex-Rays. Version 1.21
    Pattern length: 32
    Minimal pattern defined bytes: 4
    Warning [zlib.lib] (Release Library\zutil.obj): please note, not a coff module at 0x9fa
    MODULE Release Library\zutil.obj
    Fatal [zlib.lib] (Release Library\zutil.obj): not a coff module
    press enter to exit.
    Please forgive my if this question has been answered before, or it's common knowledge, but how can I get this to work? I've searched all over the internet, and I have either been unable to find the answer or possibly unable to understand it.

Thanks in advance from a long-time lurker and first-time poster!
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

<script>alert(0)</script> disavowed's Avatar
    E-mail Ilfak (support@hex-rays.com). He usually responds within 24 hours.

Sadly, it's not an option at present. The free version of IDA doesn't come with the FLIRT binaries, and... I was kind of hoping someone here had first-hand experience and could share a few tips. It seems like a pretty basic operation and one necessary to using IDA successfully.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.