Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ida 5.6 against ida 5.5 idb files..

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Shub-nigurrath's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Obscure Kadath
    Posts
    430

    ida 5.6 against ida 5.5 idb files..

    Hi,
    apparently the new (legit) version of IDA 5.6 won't load databases created with the previous pirated version of IDA (5.5+hexrays). It says "database corrupt" and closes the application without any other message or warning. It's not the classical "created with pirated version" nag, which is easily removed. It's something else here and there I cannot easily find.

    Anyone has some glue about?? A fix for that? (even via PM).
    (`._.[*~-.,.-~* ŜħůβŇĝŕřāŧħ ₪*~-.,.-~*]._.)
    There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't
    http://www.accessroot.com

  2. #2
    <script>alert(0)</script> disavowed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,281
    Get legit version of 5.5, open your idb, re-save in legit 5.5. Then open newly saved one in 5.6.

  3. #3
    Since Lz0 released 5.6 SDK, is it safe to assume they *also* have the Advanced 5.6 but are not distributing it --- yet? OR, that during download of 5.5 SDK they espied the 5.6 SDK too and decided to get that too....

    Have Phun
    Blame Microsoft, get l337 !!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Shub-nigurrath's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Obscure Kadath
    Posts
    430
    @disavowed: your solution isn't working at all, same behavior. Did you test it?
    @Aimless: what this has to do with my question? The SDK is just another thing. :-?

    Just for completeness, the classical patches already described here (http://www.woodmann.com/forum/showthread.php?p=79551&postcount=26) are not working against these new checks.. it works perfectly with legit version 5.5 patched to load idb files created by a pirated 5.5, but not with version 5.6 (in this case the checks are bypassed but indeed the idb is not loaded)..

    It seems only to affect the idb files created with the pirated copy of IDA 5.5. It seems like the keygenning algorithm left something out and the idb files has some inconsistent checks inside still..I am indeed searching for a fast solution if someone already tracked down the problem
    Last edited by Shub-nigurrath; February 23rd, 2010 at 10:39.
    (`._.[*~-.,.-~* ŜħůβŇĝŕřāŧħ ₪*~-.,.-~*]._.)
    There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't
    http://www.accessroot.com

  5. #5
    Musician member evaluator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,479
    Blog Entries
    1
    BTW, was fishing for malware & inspired by this thread, downloaded torrent IDA 5.5:
    magnet:?xt=urn:btih:52ZM2ZCXRU7T4BC7V3RJZDX3LQ5GO55T

    it seems malware-shield around InnoSetup.. will look inside

  6. #6
    <script>alert(0)</script> disavowed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    1,281
    Quote Originally Posted by Shub-nigurrath View Post
    @disavowed: your solution isn't working at all, same behavior. Did you test it?
    Nope, I don't have any non-legit versions of IDA.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 18th, 2008, 01:24
  2. files .INX
    By NoLOcKs in forum Malware Analysis and Unpacking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 29th, 2005, 13:02
  3. Looking into .obj files rather than the .exe
    By Mother in forum Advanced Reversing and Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 20th, 2002, 15:49
  4. .TIL files in IDA Pro 4.1.5 and above...
    By Aimless in forum Tools of Our Trade (TOT) Messageboard
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2002, 16:42

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •