Thread: Edit strings with IDA Pro 5.2

nekkro-kvlt

Edit strings with IDA Pro 5.2

Hi, I have disassembled an ELF file, and I want to edit a particular string.
    I searched the forum and found this:
    http://www.woodmann.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5119&highlight=ida+edit

But didn't work.

I select the string near the db instruction, and type backspace or try the edit menu, but nothing happen... Do I make something wrong ?

I'm new to reverse engineering so please excuse me if the problem has alreary been solved, but can't find it...
    thanks.
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

Please do not double post. You already posted in that 6 year old Thread, and just posting in this one, with a reference to the previous post, as you made here, would be sufficient.

Regards,
    JMI

If it's an unencrypted string, just use another tool like "Hex Workshop" to edit it.

nekkro-kvlt
    Hi, the fact is that I need to replace the string with a bigger one (2 chars longer). As far as I know (not very far however), If I replace with a longer string, the new executable won't work as it will change the intern structure, right ?
    I promise that I have read the FAQ and tried to use the Search to answer my question.

Blog Entries
    right.
    but if you have phantasy.. then.. at other place..

nekkro-kvlt
    Sorry, but I don't understand what you're saying
    I think editing strings in an executable should be quite simple for someone who know how to do that, but I have no clues at all

Hello.

Text files. They don't work on the basis of addresses. Meaning, a word or sentence on the fifth page, does not refer to a word or sentence on the second page. Therefore, you add, delete, insert text at whatever position you want. You can also replace the word AIM with AIMLESS and nothing is wrong.