PDA

View Full Version : Reverse engineering in WinNT/2000

BlackB
August 7th, 2001, 02:58
Hi all ;-)

Yes I'm still alive. I'm currently working in a bank in Brussels-Belgium to pass my long vacation time (oh yes, being student has a lot of benifits, hehe).
I've got internet access here, so I make it a habit to check the messageboard every morning and afternoon.
I've been out reversing since I started programming Visual C++ 6 mfc, so no time for now. Anyway, I noticed that when working with Win2k there are a lot of disadvantages when cracking such as: no 'bpr' command in softice (can anyone tell me why??), no Frogsice, no /pedump /trace(x) support in icedump, no hmemcpy, and I'm sure that there are lots of other things that I'm not yet aware of. These 'small' things are a major drawback for using an excellent OS as Win2k when reversing....so I thought it would be a good idea to write tools specific for Win2k that would make good solutions for the major drawbacks.
As my programming knowledge concerning reversing matters is about nill, it 's (almost) impossible and too time robbing to make this work. Therefore I'd like to ask if there are people that are willing to work with me. Preferrable people that can code in Visual C++ mfc....NO not pure win32 as this is such a waste of time. It's of course possible to use API's with visual c mfc. The mfc's main framework should save us a lot of time as we don't have to worry a lot about the look of the program (nice visual editor in visual c ). Actually you don't have to worry about anything at all except the program's specific code of course. Just mentioning all this because a lot of reversers don't like visual c mfc, and I really don't see why... :P
So, people interested: let me know. People that can provide me good programming info on reversing tools are also more than welcome!

greets and already thx,

The Blackbird

kill3xx
August 8th, 2001, 17:38
BlackB (08-07-2001 00:58):