PDA

View Full Version : Ollydbg Will not make a new exe ??


Superfriend
April 9th, 2013, 00:43
Hi RCE Newbe Forums

I am a absolute beginner on ollydbg, I watched some you tube videos on how to search a
text string connected to a pop up message and then insert NOPS to stop a jump point.
I dont have any problems applying , but------ when I save to exeutive and get the
new window showing the change in code,, I ''save as'' then get pop up saying'' save modified file ?"" I click yes but ollydog saves a-- unmodified--- copy of the original exe with the new name.
I know this because the patch on the new exe doesnt work- and when I open the new exe in ollydbg the mod is not there? I having this same problem 2 different versions of ollydbg old and new.--
On XP pro

I would very greatful for help from anyone --if you give me some instructions tell me what
version of ollydbg to use with them, also ,were are the jump bars on the lastest version-
must have them-- sorry if this problem has already been covered I didn't find it..
Please , if you give some advice remember that I have zero experiance patching
so spell it out for an idiot. I apreciate your patience

Thanks
Superfriend

Aimless
April 9th, 2013, 17:58
Perhaps, you need to get familiar with reversing theory, before you attempt to start using the tools.

A few good tutorials are available on the net. I'd recommend beginning using +ORC and Iczelion.

Have Phun

Superfriend
April 11th, 2013, 00:45
Ya --thats definitely a good idea and Im going to start on that, But what is the reason for the Olly dbg
malfunction?

Why doesnt it create the new exe with the patch in it?-----'Save as '---makes the original exe with the
new name? and with out the patch??

This is very strange.

Thanks alot to any one who can answer

Superfriend

Kayaker
April 11th, 2013, 01:20
I'm not trying to play the "learn to search" card, just showing how effective it can be. If I Google for likely keywords such as 'modify file ollydbg', the 2nd hit I get is the following thread. See if it fits your situation.

http://www.woodmann.com/forum/showthread.php?9434-unable-to-save-changes-in-exe-file-by-Ollydbg

encryptedmind
April 11th, 2013, 11:48
Just saying, maybe you missed the 'selection of the code using left mouse button', normally should not matter though ostensibly you might need to explicitly specify the modified area to save successfully to the new binary. Try it and maybe it would solve the issue...