PDA

View Full Version : Stop one certain page from loading


mint77
January 28th, 2013, 09:38
I only use i.e. when I have too.

(Back when Win Ninety Eight was the current O.S., someone wrote some code that excised the browser from the O.S.)

I think the browser did less "phoning home." :-)

Is there a way to block this page from loading ?



http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows/upgrade-your-browser
[/CODE]

I have seen code to fake out those decompressor i.d. programs., so maybe this is some workaround.

Thanks.

disavowed
February 6th, 2013, 10:11
Why wouldn't you want to keep your browser up-to-date? Do you like getting infected by drive-by-downloads?

mint77
February 7th, 2013, 01:14
Code bloat.

esther
February 7th, 2013, 04:45
Quote:
[Originally Posted by mint77;94219]Code bloat.

How ironic,you still using it

mint77
February 7th, 2013, 15:39
Only when required by Windows for security updates.

disavowed
February 12th, 2013, 09:43
Quote:
[Originally Posted by mint77;94219]Code bloat.

That is an awful reason to use outdated software with widely available exploits that target it.

Kayaker
February 12th, 2013, 10:50
Nah, makes perfect sense

Quote:
[Originally Posted by mint77;94224]I spent days cleaning up after the pup.factheme virus.
It wore me out.

Three anti-virus programs could not detect it.

NeOXOeN
February 12th, 2013, 12:21
as i see only mint77 has problems.. making like 1 milion of post all over the board... probably sometimes it would be usefull to filter on his posts