PDA

View Full Version : Syncrosoft smashed


Sab
December 20th, 2009, 15:09
Hi all. Been around the dongle scene for a long time now and seldom do I see a release worth posting about related to dongles; however, here are a few:

Steinberg.Cubase.v5.1.2.UPDATE.READNFO-AiR
Steinberg.WaveLab.v6.1.1-AiR

Big hats off to my friends in AiR, fantastic work and an amazing reverse engineering effort. For those of you who are not familiar with Syncrosoft's protection, it is based on a automata based protection called MCFACT. Developers can code using protection API during development to keep the protection persistent through the application. The MCFACT code in turn is connected to the dongle. The entire protection is then wrapped around a big script engine. Until a few short years ago, the scripts would have about 64 blocks but they increased the size to over 30 million blocks ~. It appears AiR although still time consuming found a nice solution to that problem, I would imagine Syncrosoft is gasping for air right about now...

From a useless old dongle jedi master to AiR, respect.

Woodmann
December 20th, 2009, 21:39
I got an old rap song rolling around in my head.........

"I'm the king of dongs, there is none higher,
sucker dong crackers should call me sire,
to crack my kingdom you must use IDA,
I wont stop cracking 'til I retire".

Although we do have two "kings of dongs" around here .

tofu-sensei
December 21st, 2009, 07:19
Here's the song that plays when installing their dongle emu:
hxxp://www.mediafire.com/download.php?mtitajwimnn

OHPen
December 21st, 2009, 07:41
I totally agree with Sab!!

This is for sure a master piece of reverse engineering. I also took a deep look at that protection, because i got a mcfact sdk ;D. I know that the entry to this protection is not easy to find )

especially the instructions which are executed on the dongle only are a big problem. obviously they found a solutions for that...
this must have been very time consuming project. thumbs up!! ;D

Regards,
OHPen

PS: Does somebody know if it is running stable ?? Because Cubase is a huge application it is not easy to fix everything without missing some parts...

tofu-sensei
December 21st, 2009, 10:58
Quote:
[Originally Posted by OHPen;84172]PS: Does somebody know if it is running stable ?? Because Cubase is a huge application it is not easy to fix everything without missing some parts...

I heard it's running great...

Sab
December 21st, 2009, 18:29
believe me when i say although the testers at AiR are second to none, the reversers at AiR make it even easier. Rarely do they release fix unless its one of those obvious 'duh' situations (forgot to include .nfo etc). O yeah rofl @ woodmanns proper tracker ( :

CrackZ
December 21st, 2009, 19:00
I'll 2nd Sab on this one.

I remember Cubase from about v3.1, I think that was the first time they started using Synchrosoft and I had a good look at the work that was done then.

I'll look at this one at some point as well.

Regards,

CrackZ.